Camp life… How NOT to go about it.

Oh the lovely setting of camp life, the scenery, the wildlife, the birds chirping and a massive amount of construction equipment making a racket everywhere. It’s a perfect time to work on yourself while you’re away from the prying eyes of society.

But i know what you are thinking, “But i work 12 hours a day and i have no energy to hit the gym and eat right.”

WRONG!

Let me tell you a little slice of my life. I was once like you. You see, in 3 weeks i managed to gain enough weight that i had to travel home in work clothes because i have purposely bought them bigger in order to be more comfortable at work. Imagine my surprise when i tried to slip into my jeans only to find out they don’t pass my fat thighs, fat hips and fat ass, and i’m a hockey player, we’re used to having larger than normal thighs hips and ass…… I was ashamed. I was even more ashamed when my parents were telling me out right that i was fat, and my friend told me i “filled in those jeans quite well”

At least i was born with good genes, and i’ve always been athletic, so i shaved the weight i had gained in a matter of a month after i headed back to school.

How did i manage to get so morbidly obese? Easy. I skipped breakfast, i would take a LARGE brown paper lunch bag and fill it with brownies, pastries and cookies….. i would even get mad when people would asked me for a cookie during the day. The bag was filled to the brim and i couldn’t fold the top in order to carry it, instead i had to carry it in my arms like a 20 lbs baby. After work i’d devour 3 plates of food from our all you can eat buffet. I’d then plop down in front of the tv and fall asleep.

I’d tell myself, “OK tonight i’m starting to workout, no excuses” but when the time came i’d make lame excuses like i was too tired or i would just fall asleep. The lazier i became, the lazier i got…. its a vicious fucking cycle.

Fast forward to the next summer, thankfully my family and friends shamed the fuck out of me for being fat… well fatter, as i hadn’t ever broken the 200lbs milestone.

I was determined to workout and eat right. As easy as it is to eat unhealthy in place where food and prepared for you, it’s also incredibly easy to eat right. Watching my portions required thought, and hitting the gym, at first, required a bit more effort. but here is the kicker. Them more you go to the gym, the more stamina and energy you have to be able to hit the gym… now that is a wonderful cycle, as it gets to the point where you are looking forward to destroy yourself while working out… not to mention sleeping gets better and more refreshing.

I know i know, working away from home gives one giant excuse to be lazy….. DON’T… this is the time to revamp yourself. Because apart from that… what else are you going to do, it’s not like you can go out on a “night on the town”

So the question is, do you want to be like me and get fat, or do you want to be like me and reinvent yourself.

If you’re reading this blog, i think the answer is obvious.

2 responses to “Camp life… How NOT to go about it.

  • Spacetraveller

    Hey Lost,
    Welcome back!

    Great post.
    It’s so easy to hit the slippery slope to inactivity/overeating.
    But you are right, once you make the small effort to get going, it gets easier and easier…
    The trick is to take that first step though 🙂

Leave a Reply

